Manager Kristian Birk, Nordic Council of Ministers awarded The Nordic Chairman of the Year 2009 at Grand Hotel in Oslo 2nd of February 2010.

In this difficult business climate it is important to find the leading chairman that can prove that it is possible to do good business during crisis.
The Nordic Chairman of the Year can inspire other chairmen to look for possibilities.

This is the second year a chairman is receiving the Nordic award.

The nominees to the award are:
Iceland Vilhjalmur Thorsteinsson CCP Games (not listed)
Norway Anders Grundekjøn Statkraft as (owned by the Norwegian government)
Sweden Anders Narvinger Alfa Laval AB (listed)
Finland Risto Siilasmaa F-Secure Oyj (listed)
Denmark Fritz Schur Dong Energy as (owned by the Danish government)

The company aspires to protect the irreplaceable content of its customers, and to be the most profitable value-added services partner for operators. With more than 200 operators around the world the company is the global leader of operator provisioned software services. For the consumer the easiest way to stay protected, for the operators this is a proven way to increase ARPU and reduce churn.
The company has 18 country offices and a presence in more than 100 countries, with Security Lab operations in Helsinki and in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. More than 800 people are working for the Corporation.
Revenues in 3 quarters 2009 are € 93,4 mill and a profit of €20,8 mill.
Market cap €447 mill and price pr share €2,84

The difficult 3 quarters of 2009 is passed with outstanding results, an increase in turnover of 13% and 13% increase in profit before tax. Through building a solid platform through the crisis the company had the financial strength to buy a nonelisted company in France in July 2009.


Nordic Chairman of the Year 2009 – Risto Siilasmaa, F-Secure Oyj

Risto Siilasmaa has been Chairman of the Board in F-Secure for 3 years, and was the founder of the company in 1988.
Risto Siilasmaa received top score from the other board of directors for leading the discussions and motivating the directors by using each person’s skills and knowledge during the meetings.
The chairman draws good conclusions and formulates resolutions. This way of working with good routines for the board, is earned through experience at the board of Nokia and 7 other positions in private enterprises.
Risto Siilasmaa is very competent in prioritizing the right issues on the agenda with his 20 years experience.
He is mature and show authority as a chairman. Risto is also highly respected for his personal integrity.

The board follows the Corporate Governance recommendations, and the board has always the final saying by important decisions like the acquisition of Steek SA in France, a leading European software provider for online storage and data management solutions to fixed line and mobile operators.
The board sets the premises for the strategic decisions that are not only aimed at profit but also includes growth.
The board evaluates risks systematically, and yearly the total salary of the management (options, incentives, pensions).
The company has a strong financial base with an equity ratio of 69,8%.

The share of women at the board is 16%.

The award is funded by: First Securities

The jury:

Director Carsten Koch, Lønmodtagernes Dyrtidsfond, Denmark

Dosent Einar Gudbjartsson, Iceland University, Iceland

Managing director consulting department Carina Lundberg Markow, Folksam, Sweden

Chairman of the Year 2007 Marcus Borgström, Finland

Chairman of the Jury, Board analyst Gunnar Eckbo, Norway t +47 92024576